Vanderbilt DORS Core

Overview of Services

'The DORS project aims to provide centralized, professionally managed, enterprise-grade high performance data storage at a cost that is less than or equal to purchasing and maintaining local, entry-level storage, but without the added complexity and headaches of doing so.  DORS runs on IBM’s General Parallel Filesystem (GPFS), providing high-performance, parallelized throughput to ACCRE via native GPFS connections to all gateways and compute nodes.  Access to systems outside of ACCRE is supported by Clustered NFS (CNFS) and Windows file sharing (CIFS).  GPFS, CNFS, and CIFS are all configured with multiple redundant servers, providing automated transparent failover in case one server requires maintenance, or for carrying out rolling upgrades of system software with no downtime. The data is backed up nightly, to an IBM tape library using the Advanced Library Management System and Tivoli Storage Manager (TSM) software.  DORS was funded by NIH S10 RR031634.

Leadership

Walter Chazin, Director, Center for Structural Biology
Core Sponsor
walter.chazin@vanderbilt.edu

Jarrod Smith, Research Associate Professor, Biochemistry
Core Director
jarrod.smith@vanderbilt.edu

Staff

Name

Role

Phone

Email

Patrick Bembry

Billing

(615) 343-2244

patrick.bembry@vanderbilt.edu

Kevin Buteraugh

Technical Support

(615) 875-9633

kevin.buterbaugh@vanderbilt.edu

Bill Riner

Technical Support

(615) 322-2053

bill.riner@vanderbilt.edu

Roy Hoffman

Technical Support

(615) 322-2053

roy.hoffman@vanderbilt.edu

John Ritter

Technical Support

(615) 818-8208

john.ritter@vumc.org


Hours of Operation and Location

Hours Open

Hours Staffed

Location

M-F, 9 am to 5 pm

24 hours / 7 days per week

Hill 107 Datacenter

 

Links and Resources

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Patrick Bembry
Core Billing
 
(615) 343-224
 
patrick.bembry@vanderbilt.e
 
Hill Center 201
 

×

Add Purchase Order

Loading